Driving Without a License in Georgia

You’re driving late at night, and in your rearview mirror, you see the flashing lights of a police car. Likely you’ll be asked for your license and registration. But what happens when you don’t have a license on you? There are several charges that may be applied depending on the circumstances, and we want to show you what you can expect.

Our team at H. Lehman Franklin, P.C., is here to provide you with the support you need when facing charges associated with driving without a license. We strive to make sure Georgia residents get the representation they need to fight their traffic law cases.

Contact our Attorneys Today

Or

Give us a call

What are the Charges of Driving Without a License?

Georgia law requires every driver to have a valid driver’s license and carry it with them when operating a motor vehicle. When it comes to cases of driving without a license, you may face different charges depending on the circumstances of your traffic stop. These are the most common:

  • Driving without a license: You are driving on a license that has been suspended, disqualified, revoked, or you were never issued a license at all.
  • Driving without a license on person/in possession: You have a driver’s license issued to you, but you do not have it on you at the time of your traffic stop.

What Happens if I Do not Have My License in Possession?

It is always important to keep your driver’s license on hand. However, forgetting your license at home is an understandable mistake.

Not having your license in your possession generally will not lead to an arrest, though you might be charged with a misdemeanor that can be contested in court by providing a valid driver’s license.

If you can prove that you had a valid license at the time that you were pulled over, Georgia law dictates you can be fined no more than $10 for the misdemeanor.

What Happens if You Drive Without a License?

If you are driving without a license, whether it is because you never had a driver’s license to begin with, your license was suspended, or even if your license has expired, you may be charged with the criminal offense of “driving without a license.” You can face numerous charges for this violation.

If this is your first time driving without a license in the state of Georgia in the last five years, you could face:

  • At least two days but no more than 12 months in jail
  • A Fine of at least $500 but no more than $1,000
  • Required fingerprinting
  • Driver’s license suspension for six months.

The penalties for a second or third offense within five years increases the penalties to the following:

  • At least 10 days but no more than 12 months in jail
  • A fine of at least $1,000 but no more than $2,500
  • Driver’s license suspension for six months.

If you are convicted of driving without a license for a fourth or subsequent time within five years, the charge classification is upgraded to a Felony, and the penalties include:

  • At least one year but no more than five years in jail
  • A fine of at least $2,500 but no more than $5,000
  • Driver’s license suspension for six months

Meet with Our Lawyers Today

If you’ve recently been charged with driving without a license, we can help you. With decades of legal experience, the attorneys at H. Lehman Franklin, P.C., are committed to helping you navigate the judicial system. If you are a Georgia resident looking for help after driving without a license, schedule a free consultation with H. Lehman Franklin, P.C., today!